24 West Chase Street, #201
Pensacola, FL 32502
Schedule a Free Consultation
Attorney Profile Criminal Defense Case Results

Aggravated Battery

Under Florida Statute § 784.045, aggravated battery is committed when a person commits a battery and intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement or uses a deadly weapon. Although the crime of simple battery is classified as misdemeanor under Florida law, the penalties for aggravated battery are more severe. An aggravated battery charge is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment.

Violent crime accusations can impact a person’s life significantly. For example, individuals convicted of aggravated battery can lose their job, housing opportunities, and professional licenses. This is why if an individual has been arrested for aggravated battery, it’s important to seek a dedicated attorney experienced with representing individuals accused of violent crimes who will fight to get charges reduced or dismissed. 

Aggravated Battery Lawyer in Pensacola, Florida

Were you arrested for battery or aggravated battery in Florida? It is of utmost importance that you seek an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. John Terrezza has over 10 years of experience defending individuals accused of violent crimes. He can assist you by utilizing his years of experience, extensive resources, and thorough knowledge of Florida’s laws.

Terrezza Law serves clients in throughout the Pensacola area, including Navarre, Pensacola Beach, Gulf Breeze, Milton, and many other communities. John Terrezza at Terrezza Law is prepared to your call. Call him right now at (850) 764-5291 to set up your first consultation free. He will help you navigate the legal process and answer all your questions along the way.


Back to top

Information Center


Back to top

Is Aggravated Battery a Felony in FL?

In Florida, violent crimes are aggressively prosecuted. Aggravated battery is classified as a second-degree felony. The penalties include a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 15 years imprisonment.

Florida Statute § 784.03 establishes that an individual commits a misdemeanor battery when he or she actually and intentionally touches or strikes a person against their will, or intentionally causes bodily harm to a person. According to Florida Statutes § 784.045, aggravated battery occurs when the defendant intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement; or uses a deadly weapon during the commission of a battery. 

The crime of aggravated battery is ranked as a Level 7 offense under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. Consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you understand what this means in your individual case.


Back to top

Aggravated Battery 10-20-Life Statute

The penalties for an aggravated battery increase when the offense involves the actual possession or discharge of a firearm. The actual possession of or discharge of a firearm during an aggravated battery triggers a mandatory prison sentence under Florida’s 10-20-Life statute which is Florida Statute § 775.087. 

Pursuant to 10-20-Life, an individual convicted of aggravated battery could receive any of the following minimum mandatory sentences:


Back to top

Aggravated Battery on Law Enforcement Officers

Pursuant to Florida Statute § 784.07, individuals charged with aggravated battery face increased maximum prison sentences if they are charged with committing this offense upon law enforcement. Aggravated battery on a law enforcement officer is enhanced from a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment to a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years imprisonment. If you are convicted of aggravated battery on a law enforcement officer you must also be sentenced to a minimum term of 5 years imprisonment.

Under Florida law, the term law enforcement officer can include any of the following:


Back to top

Additional Resources for Aggravated Battery

Florida Statute: Aggravated Battery – Click the link to view Florida Statute 784.045 which describes the offense of aggravated battery. The law classifies the crime as a second-degree felony.

Pensacola Police Department – Visit the official website for the Pensacola Police Department. 

Pensacola Police Department

711 N. Hayne Street

Pensacola FL 32501

Office: 850-435-1900 

Florida Statute: 10-20-Life – Visit the official website for the Florida Senate. Follow the link to read section 775.087 which is also known as the 10-20-life law.


Back to top

Pensacola Criminal Defense Attorneys in FL

If you have been charged or arrested for aggravated battery in Florida, contact Terrezza Law. These charges could have a significant impact on your future, and they should be taken seriously. We want to help you fight for your freedom by providing excellent legal services and representation.

Criminal defense attorney John Terrezza at Terrezza Law serves individuals throughout the Pensacola area, including Navarre, Pensacola Beach, Gulf Breeze, Milton, and many other communities Call him now at (850) 764-5291 to schedule a free, initial consultation. He can work with you one-on-one to protect your rights.


Back to top

What Our Clients Have To Say