Florida law defines Theft in Statute §812.014. The value of the property or the kind of property stolen can determine the level of the charge. Property that is valued under $300 is charged as “petit” theft.
In some instances, a guilty verdict for petit theft will result in the court ordering your license suspended. Additionally, the prosecutor could add a charge of scheme to defraud.
Talking to an experienced criminal defense attorney about criminal charges for grand theft, petit theft, or shoplifting can help you understand the differences between them.
John Terrezza is a Florida native who has handled multiple criminal defense cases in courthouses in Pensacola in Escambia County, Santa Rosa County in Milton, and in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Florida. He will fight to protect your rights.
If you or someone you know has been charged with theft, call John Terrezza. With offices conveniently located in Pensacola, Florida, John Terrezza is an experienced criminal defense attorney who has a history of zealously fighting for his clients.
Act quickly to lessen your chances of jail time or fines. Call (850) 764-5291 now.
Under Florida law, the major difference between petit theft and grand theft is the value of the property stolen.
Petit theft is charged as a misdemeanor with potentially shorter jail sentences. Multiple convictions for petit theft may enhance the charge from a misdemeanor to a felony. For example, the prosecution will charge a person who commits petit theft, and who also has two or more prior convictions for any theft, with a third-degree felony.
Grand theft, however, is a felony offense and usually involves stealing very expense items or stealing as a part of a scheme to defraud.
Florida takes theft very seriously. Felony charges for grand theft may range anywhere from third-degree to first-degree charges.
Third-Degree Felony Grand Theft
Stealing a variety of different items can constitute a third-degree felony theft. A person is guilty of third-degree grand theft if he or she steals any of the following:
Under Florida law, grand theft in the third-degree carries a penalty of up to five (5) years in prison (or on probation) and up to $5,000 in fines.
Second-Degree Felony Grand Theft
Grand theft is considered a second-degree felony, in Florida, when the property stolen is any of the following:
Violators are guilty of grand theft in the second-degree. A grand theft crime is charged as a second-degree felony is punishable by up to fifteen (15) years of prison (or probation) and a $10,000 fine.
First-Degree Felony Grand Theft
Stealing any one of the following items constitutes a first-degree felony:
Additionally, if the offender commits grand theft and in the course of committing the offense, the defendant does any of the following:
The punishment for a first-degree felony is up to thirty (30) years of prison (or probation) and up to $20,000 in fines.
Florida Statute §812.014 - Visit the Florida Legislature website to read the entire statutory language describing the definition of grand theft. Also, find Title XLVI in Chapter 812 for theft, robbery, and related property crimes.
“Dealing in Stolen Property, Grand Theft, and Ineffective Assistance of Counsel” – Visit FloridaBar.Org the official website for the State Bar of Florida. The site has an article that discusses the criminal charges related to buying and selling stolen property.
If you were arrested for Grand Theft, call an experienced criminal defense attorney in Escambia County. With offices located in Pensacola, FL, John Terrezza has a history of zealously fighting for his clients charged with felony and misdemeanor offenses throughout courthouses in Escambia County and Milton in Santa Rosa County.
Act quickly to lessen your chances of jail time or fines. John Terrezza’s office is located on West Gregory St. in Downtown Pensacola, just minutes from the Blue Wahoos Stadium.
Call (850) 764-5291 now for a free and confidential consultation.
This article was last updated on Monday, December 19, 2016.