It is a common misperception that a charge of underage possession of alcohol is not a big problem or will not have severe consequences. Holding an unopened alcoholic beverage while under the age of 21, is considered a violation of the law. In some states, parents can authorize their underaged child to possess or consume alcohol if it’s under their supervision, however, this is not allowed in the state of Florida. If you are convicted for underage drinking in Florida, you will have a criminal record and face the statutory penalties.
Having a criminal record can hinder your future prospects for employment, education, and housing. Retaining an experienced criminal defense attorney is the best chance you have to get your charges dismissed or reduced.
If you’re under the age of 21 and you are facing charges for underage possession of alcohol, it is important to seek legal counsel. Under Florida Statute § 562.11, it is illegal to sell, give, or serve alcohol to any person who is under 21 years of age. If you or your loved one has been charged for underage possession of alcohol in Florida, it’s imperative you retain the help of a skilled and highly qualified attorney such as John Terrezza of [firm].
It’s common to be overwhelmed and even a little bit frightened if you’re facing criminal charges. John Terrezza has years of experience representing individuals charged with possession of alcohol. Furthermore, he has been representing minors in middle or high school for years. Do not hesitate to contact [firm] at [phone] to schedule your free initial consultation or submit an online contact form. [firm] can determine the best possible defenses and fight to get the criminal charges reduced or dismissed.
firm] defends clients in and around Escambia County, including such communities as Pensacola Beach, Milton, and Gulf Breeze.
Laws can be complicated and at times it may seem best to handle the situation yourself. However, having an experienced criminal defense attorney when facing charges of underage possession of alcohol can help you avoid or minimize the criminal penalties and collateral consequences of a conviction.
Any persons who is at least 18 years of age and is employed in the sale, preparation, and/or service of alcohol is allowed to possess the alcohol but cannot consume it. In other words, if your 18-year-old child works at a restaurant or bar he or she may serve alcoholic beverages but must not consume it or they are in violation of the Florida Statutes. Additionally, any student who is at least 18 years of age and attends an accredited postsecondary institution where the curriculum requires the tasting of alcohol is lawfully allowed to taste the alcohol only and not drink it (See Florida Statute § 562.111(2)).
The penalties for a conviction for underage possession of alcohol are as follows:
Consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you determine all your legal options that would be best for you based on the particular facts of your case. Below are some common defenses to underage possession of alcohol:
There are many factors that can influence the crime’s punishment such as the defendant’s age, if the defendant was intoxicated, whether the defendant has a criminal history, etc. If you’ve been charged with possession of alcohol, we urge you to contact an experienced attorney.
Escambia County Alcoholic Beverages – Follow the link to view Escambia County’s Code of Ordinance. Chapter 6 Alcoholic Beverages, details hours of services for business, and what is the unlawful consumption and possession of alcoholic beverages.
Pensacola, FL Underage Drinking – Visit the link to the City of Pensacola, FL website. The site offers a multitude of resources for residents, visitors, and businesses. In addition, the website has an underage drinking report, in which an individual can report the location of an underage party or an establishment that Is furnishing alcoholic beverages to people under the age of 21.
If you’re under the age of 21 and you are facing charges for underage possession of alcohol, it is vital to contact a criminal defense attorney. A skilled defense attorney can help you determine any possible legal defense based on the particular facts of your case and what legal options are available to you. Having a skilled attorney by your side is crucial. If your charges are dropped, that would make you eligible to seal or expunge your record.
John Terrezza has years of experience of practicing criminal law. He can utilize his knowledge to build a sturdy defense for your case. Get in contact with him at [phone] to set up your first consultation. Make your life easier today by contacting Pensacola criminal defense attorney John Terrezza. [firm] has represented clients throughout the greater Santa Rosa County and Escambia County area such as Navarre, Gulf Breeze, Pensacola, and Milton.